KatGirl

By katgirl

Somber Day

Two days ago, we returned home to find Faye gravely ill. We tried ICU care for 36 hours, but she only worsened. We had hoped to bring her home. But when I saw her today, I knew that bringing her home would make her suffer more. Instead, she died peacefully with me. Losing Faye so suddenly has been devastating, mostly because I worry that she suffered in our absence. She sometimes didn't come out for pet sitters, so we didn't think that it was unusual.

Faye brought us nothing but joy for 11 years. She featured prominently in James' journal and mine. My life has had lots of ups and downs in recent years. Faye was my steadfast friend through all of it. She purred on my lap when I was on bedrest while pregnant with Bob. She cuddled up with Bob and I during late night nursing sessions. She was my bed companion every day that I have felt ill. When I remember the 6 week spinal headache last summer, I remember Faye and Pearl's constant presence - not the pain. She was the perfect cat. I will miss her terribly.

Instead of wallowing in sadness, Bob and I headed to a rock climbing gym. I had purchased a Groupon, not quite realizing that this gym was quite drive from our place. I also didn't realize that I would be required to hold his ropes. After watching a video on how to do it, I realized that Bob would likely fall to the ground thanks to my wonky hands. Fortunately, they had some automatic belaying devices that Bob could use. All I had to do was clip him in. Oops. My hands couldn't do that either. Not one of my better days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.