Hoverflies in the garden

Rosie was 10 today, I simply cannot believe it was a decade ago when she was born, it really does only feel like it was yesterday!
I decided I had been to see enough churches for a while, so today I decided to return to my first love - macro.
Sadly my catch in the moth trap overnight consisted of 1 Hebrew character, and 1 Common Quaker........no photographic opportunity there! 
After lunch I went out for a quick drive down the bluebell covered country lanes nearby - such bliss.... but in the end settled for this hoverfly shot from the garden for today's offering.
I think this rather attractive tiny hoverfly is Sphaerophoria scripta, a common species found in gardens, that said I do think it is rather beautiful and most certainly a welcome sight!
I have added a Bluebell shot in my extras, perfectly displaying the 'Thin Blue line' effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.