BLOOD ORANGE MARMALADE

 What could you expect from a thumbnail featuring the decoration of a Japanese porcelain bowl? It's just asking to be filled with the latest marmalade - made today!

Want to know the truth?

OK - fessing up - simmering the oranges for two hours bleached out all the "blood" from the oranges - so in the final boil I added the appropriate amount of cochineal! Got the colour about right...

Not the first time I cheated in this life. When I was fifteen & learning to smoke they were ripping lead off the school roof and I had a light bulb moment! Liberated some of this lead & cut out accurate half-crown size discs...

Shove these into a cigarette machine & you received not only 10 Player's Navy Cut or Senior Service which cost 1s & 11d, but 7d change!!

Guess I did this twice or three times - it was just a bit of fun - never an industry :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.