Great White Egret

I am getting my blip up early today. Saturday I drove by and saw two Egrets sitting way up in a fir tree by the roadway; Sunday I took my hubby over to see this area with several Blue Heron and Egret nests; today I got a shot of one sitting on the branch by the nest. I found this spot yesterday where I could see the Egret in the distance through some bushes near the path. I had to get the focus perfectly on the bird in the narrow space between the bushes.....and I got it to work!!! Like LeGreveKarjala said in one of her recent comments: "luck". Yes, I agreed; photography is 80% luck! Of course, you have to be in a location where the "luck" might happen best; in the light where the "luck" might happen best. But sometimes it is simply dumb luck!  :-))

Extra is an Egret peaking around a branch and a Blue heron on her nest. That last one was "dumb luck" because I thought I was simply getting a photo of the nest.  :-)) AND the last extra is a plant you should never touch. Yesterday I ventured a little ways into a "no trespassing" zone (just two feet) into the forest for a better photo and walked through these plants. I knew immediately I had made a mistake to wear short pants.....the stinging nettle plant is aptly named.....I got the worst sting as soon as I walked into it. So, if you see that green plant, DO NOT let it touch your skin. It hurts!!!! Still does today.

Thanks for the comments, stars and heart for yesterday's mini blip meet......if you felt left out, DON'T....it simply happened at the last minute and was kept intentionally small this time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.