Bom

By Bom

Mono Monday - New Beginnings

Once a rare sight in the UK, you can now see Squirrilus Pestius growing in flower pots throughout the South of England.  Grown from a bulb planted in Autumn, they emerge in early Spring and reach their full height in mid-April. Most gardeners find them easy to grow, but some do struggle with the dead-heading. I thought this one in my garden (nicknamed Cyril) would make an unsuitable entry for the Mono Monday challenge on New Beginnings, thanks to davidc for hosting.

Another ‘new beginning’ can be seen in the extras.  My friend M and I went to a candle making workshop in London today, a lovely and thoughtful xmas gift to me.  We both really enjoyed it and learnt a lot, and it set us thinking of gift ideas.  In the extras you can see the ingredients set out before we started and the finished candle being left to set with the wick supported by a stick and peg over the jar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.