DancingAly

By DancingAly

Lonely Traveller

A nothingy sort of day, the last weekday of the holidays. I knew I was going out tonight, so did very little in the day. 

I went into London in the early evening. Guy-friend had invited me earlier in the week, as he was DJing at the pub. I had wanted to do some browsing/shopping on Oxford Street, so timed it to coordinate. The weather was nice and spring like, and sunny. I had a bowl of soup in LPQ, and then went to the Nike Store, where I bought a shirt for gym. I always find it hard- less enjoyable, as I used to go to the Nike store with Tim. We bought my new runners there last May. 

It was 8pm, right around the time I was supposed to head to the pub, when I decided to check my phone. And lo and behold, a message from guy friend saying the gig had been cancelled and did I get his message! No! In truth, I don't think he sent one, I think he suddenly remembered at 8pm and then messaged me to cover his tracks. Sigh. But a hell of a lot easier to deal with now that there are no feelings involved. With nowhere to be, I relaxed. I could do what I wanted, there was no restrictions on me. So I carried on wandering, looked in a few shops and bought nothing, and walked down Regent Street until I reached Piccadilly Circus. I like that I know my way around.

As things became more familiar, I spotted the side street where the Whole Foods Market is. I know that I haven't been there by myself yet, since "the bad stuff" happened. I suspect I shall always think of Tim there. The first time we went together he dragged me there to stock up on his beloved protein powder, and I was shocked at the price tag! I loved it there though, as always enjoyed browsing. Over the summer months, we had many a Whole Foods picnic- overpriced that it is! I picked up a few things I wanted, including my favourite Triple Green Smoothie, and some lovely Chia seed puddings. I bought Little B a pack of Lily's Kitchen Bedtime biscuits which he likes, and grabbed some veggies. I took these pictures as I love the colours in the fruit and veg displays. I wanted to send one to Tim, saying this made me think of him, and wish him a good week skiing with his family (they're in Val Thorens this week), but in the end I decided not to. i always crack first. Besides, it's not really my place to intrude on his life anymore, and whoever he may be with. 

I wandered back to the station, and just thought my own thoughts. I caught the slow train, but a nice man sitting opposite me started chatting when he saw me eating my veggies, and we chatted until he left. He was old enough to be my dad, but it was nice just learning about other people's lives. He told me about his children, he asked about my job. He said it must be great working with children, and he got a lot out of coaching his son's sports teams when he could. He was a great guy, and I haven't chatted to anyone on the train for ages. When he left, he said he loved hearing people's stories, and said we're unlikely to ever meet again, so enjoy my life! 

It was really nice. Genuine, and cheered me up. I arrived home to a slightly surprised mum, and Little B. It was nice to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.