TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

A Knock At The Door

...linger here amidst the chamber
in which we embrace our love
talk to me of sonnets
and call me turtledove...”

"Ode to the Chamber," Muse, Enigmatic Evolution

I was in the living room this afternoon watching tv when I heard a loud "thunk" behind me while at the same time catching a shadowy glimpse of something out of the corner of my right eye. 
I was immediately aware that some type of bird had flown into the glass of my front screen door. I jumped up and headed toward the door, sending up fervent prayers that I would not find a dead bird on my doorstep. 
Looking out the door I was delighted to discover a pair of Turtle Doves (also known as Mourning Doves or Carolina Pigeons) perched together on the top rail of my porch swing...both very much alive and well.
I am a firm believer that animal totems have great significance in this world and when they appear in our lives, they have powerful lessons to teach us.
So, of course I did some research and found that the mourning dove carries a very positive message of peace and spirituality. What's more, I found a very cool website, (http://www.spirit-animals.com) which states that if the dove has flown into your life - "Know that what you see right now is reality shifting in ways you never thought possible and that what you are truly looking for is just around the corner. The most chaos happens just before your dreams come true." 
Duly noted my fine feathered friends, duly noted.

P.S. In the "extra photos" section you will find a photo of the happy couple preparing to canoodle on the porch swing - which, oddly enough, is a favorite spot for my husband and I to do our own canoodling. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.