Quest for perfection

You might remember that one of the things I wanted to do in 2016 was to learn how to make sourdough bread. First of all it seemed very complicated but then after watching a lot of Youtube videos, I found out that it isn't too difficult to make a loaf of bread. I've made one or two loaves every week and they get eaten up quickly enough..
...however, I now realise that sourdough bread is almost an obsession for some people. I joined a Facebook group called The Perfect Sourdough and discovered that as well as a great taste, there are other things to aim for - ovenspring, bubbles on the crust and all kinds of patterns made by slashing the loaf before baking. There's lots of talk about levels of hydration, too.
All I want is for my loaf not to collapse or to stick to the banneton when I turn it out. If anyone out there has any advice, I'd be grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.