Albert, Albert

Having written yesterday that Flash couldn't do the morning walk & ride, today he took off with Angie, Rosie and Luna!  Good sign and he went well for a 30 minute walk until I picked him up.

After lunch I told Angie I was going to Erkheim and would pop in to the agricultural merchants, EVG, who were having a small clearance sale to free up some capital. She wasn't interested. While there were some larger bits of forestry and farming equipment on sale, most interest was in one of the large sheds, rows of tables piled high with clothing and all sorts of bits and pieces. The place was heaving and a long queue at the tills. Amongst those with two arms full of bargains was Albert who was featured in yesterdays Blip. We couldn't talk long as it was only 20 minutes until closing time but he said I had to pop around to his farm when finished.

I found a few bits and pieces, luckily the staff didn't shoo us out at closing time so it was a bit longer than 20 minutes. As I was returning the trolley after depositing the bits in the car, saw a pile of plastic children's slides (without frame) were being added to the sale items. Had to have one for the pool season and so went through the paying bit again but worse then trying to strap it to the car roof without a roof rack and little in the way of rope. Managed an adequate job but it took ages and in the meantime the drizzle had started. Then to the supermarket and petrol station. Every time I braked a wave of water sloshed down over the windscreen.

Then sought out the farm only to find I was so late that Albert now had another visitor, his brother. However his wife insisted on getting Albert to come out. I said I didn't want to disturb him and would come back another day but he insisted on showing me something.

I wish he hadn't. The first shed with only four tractors was followed by two more barns packed with them, I suspect I didn't get to see them all as I know he also has a lovely old Porsche 911.

In the photo, with Albert in his John Deere overalls,  one of the sheds with I think four tractors and right at the back.... well just take a look at the extra photo anno 1900. He has another 1923 Gig and a modern marathon wagon and of course a couple of horses to pull them. We will ignore the two modern BMW motorbikes.

I can't begin to list everything he had and all the details of age and technical specification. His first oldtimer buy was 25 years ago, a 1953 Fahr D17, I think he said, cost him 100 Euros. Not only are there loads of oldtimers but also several modern John Deere's including a 6620. At the back of the line in the photo is a Lanz similar to the one shown on the video link on yesterdays Blip - One cylinder with 10.2 litre motor! By the way that video includes Queen Elisabeth being mentioned and later a Union Jack, seemingly attached to a machine an UK enthusiast was displaying - can't think he drove down to Italy!

Well now I know Albert isn't the solution to my tractor difficulties but is most part of the problem. Leo Lanz in yesterdays video link needed 14 days for his journey: Albert could have joined him, using a different tractor each day. I wonder how many others he has in the process of restoration.  I applaud him for keeping the collection in working order - takes time and money. He has a smallish farm as well with 50 cows and a lonesome pheasant cock which he did offer me (perhaps this may come to something if MrB can help out) A tractor or two would have been even more interesting.

In the meantime, brother and wife had appeared from the house and joined us, no doubt waiting for Albert to return to coffee and cake. So I made my farewells. A very interesting visit.

Back home: "Where were you all the time?" " We haven't got any money how could you spend 30 Euros?" ....Uhhhhhhhhh

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.