SIGNS

By Mickky

Book Wrapper

At a bookshop in Japan, you may be asked if you need a wrapper for the book you're about to purchase. The wrapper is usually made of paper, complimentary and optional, and some people may want them to keep their books clean, prevent them from damaging, or simply not to show others what they're reading. The wrapper is called a 'book cover' as a Japanese English but it's obviously not the one as referred to in English. Some bookshops make use of their original book wrappers, just like these ones with the name of the shop on them.

I mostly ask for the wrappers simply because they always tell me where I got the books. As for these wrappers, I can also see that I bought each of them in autumn and winter, respectively.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.