Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Wharf Bridge

I was going to take it easy today, but it turned into the most fantastically beautiful morning, so I did get a bus into town then walked out the other way along the valley.

This is the old pack horse bridge on the Itchen Navigation Canal at the point where it arrives at what was the wharf.  These days the bridge leads from a muddy footpath below Wharf Hill to another muddy footpath through a nature reserve.  The bridge itself still has two tracks of rather wonderful squared stones where the cartwheels would have gone. 

The brickwork has been cleaned up relatively recently and one of the outer faces has been given a black and gold 'heritage' nameplate, Wharf Bridge, which makes me snigger (I'm not very nice, really, when it come to the 'heritage' industry)

That's about it for today.  I visited my dear old gent this afternoon and as usual we had quite a laugh, but afterwards honestly I can never remember at all what about.  Now I suppose I ought to be cooking supper.

Thank you for all your very kind wishes yesterday.  I am feeling much better - and I hope you're all good too.  Have a lovely evening  xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.