Carol's ramblings

By Lucari

Trip to Kew

On Mother's Day last year, daughter and son-in-law gave me a Red Letter Day voucher for a trip to Kew for two people.  It had to be booked before the end of March 2016, the earliest I could book for was today.  So hubby and I took a days leave from work and spent the day in Kew Gardens.  When you book, the one thing that you cannot guarantee is the weather but we were so lucky, beautiful sunshine (no coat needed today)!  

The area of Kew is familiar to both hubby and I, being born nearby and spending our younger years at school and work in the area.  I think I must have visited Kew as a young child but can't recall clearly, hubby has fond memories of his time visiting Kew.  We were able to go into the famous landmark of the Palm House (one of the extra's), waterlily house and Kew Palace House (managed by the charity Historic Royal Palaces) but unfortunately the Temperance House and the Pagoda were not open to public.  There are a number of restorations going on.  We even went on the Treetop Walkway ..... (even has a lift available).  Cafe visited for lunch and a rest and good public conveniences as well.  A great day out.

According to my Fitbit I walked around 14,000 steps today!! Came home for a rest :)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.