Robin at large

By Robin

Idiosyncratic

One of the idiosyncrasies of the old fishing village at the entrance to Aberdeen harbour is that each house has its own little shed. I suppose not too surprising, the village was contracted around squares, the residents then built their sheds on communal land in the square in front of their houses.

Many of these sheds have their own small garden area, and many are decorated in a quite ornate, and frequently rather idiosyncratic manner. Most of the sheds are now stone built, and calling them sheds may not be entirely appropriate. Although I have blipped scenes from Fittie on previous occasions I have never focussed on the sheds before. Of many ornate or strange sheds I have chosen this one, maybe not the most decorated but somebody is keen on gnomes.

Lots of activity on the dredger in the harbour this afternoon. It was quite cool, but apart from the odd light shower the rain held off. I saw somebody photographing one of the ships in the harbour, the Edda Fram, I might have a look to see if the ship appears on Blip or Flikr later.

Like yesterday an early Blip as I am heading out for a pizza later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.