Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Boatyard

The sun was out and shining this afternoon, so I ventured out for a canal stroll to pick up the little'un from school. Found a pound coin* on the towpath, so it was a glorious trip in more than one way. 

I've taken pics of this boatyard before, but I've never seen it so busy/full so I figured it would be good for another shot. I guess it's because of all the boats getting serviced/repaired ready for the Summer travelling.

Even though it was a beautifully colourful day I went mono with this shot, simply because like this it really seems like this picture could've been taken on any day in the last 100 years. I think that's one of the most splendid things about the barges and canals... they really are a bridge to the past, and a different way of life.

* I did look to see if the said pound coin might've belonged to somebody. I waited for what seemed like seconds, but nobody appeared looking for it. It's going in my yacht fund, only seems right ;)

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.