iaint

By iaint

Hot desking

Finished a bit early today, at 4. After a wee excursion to Edeka to buy veggies for the salad, time to think of Blipping

As usual my mind went off in half a dozen tangents, and I started to think about how great it is to be able to put your business onto a USB stick, take it to another part of Europe and work there all day on the terrace.

Then I realised I first started doing it in Vilnius about 1995, so it's not that new. No usb sticks back then. No Skype. But it all worked. Most days.

I do remember a certain journalist (household name, so remaining nameless) who was with me in Vilnius on a trip having a wee problem with the dial up internet connection one morning. (Yes, remember dial up). Bit of a panic, as he had a story to file and a deadline to met.

He went off to have 3 beers in the pub while considering the options, and when he got back the dial up worked right first time.

The Blip is today's hot desking arrangement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.