Workshop Wednesday

OH NO NOT ANOTHER TRACTOR! - Quite right three, or in gamebird language one and a half brace.

Set off this morning to see if I could firm up on one solution to our geese problem. For those new to this, due to visiting foxes we now only have three geese - two Sirs and one Madam and she is laying eggs and getting very broody but the two dandys won't give her a minutes peace and are getting involved in macho, so far harmless, fights. One option is to buy a couple of grown ladies but you won't find any at this time of year. Option 2 is to "remove" one of the boys.

So visited the organic chicken farm in Kammlach, I mentioned in a Blip before Christmas which slaughters other peoples birds. Back then they couldn't help out as they were in Christmas Stress. Today no one at the farm but on my mobile managed to find the address of the owners in the village. As I got out of the car and lifted the tailgate to let the dogs have fresh air, a lady came across the street and bee-lined the car. I said "You also have a Border Collie" and she looked at me amazed! On my December visit I had met her husband and BC. So we got in to a long discussion about BCs and chickens and geese. They no longer do other peoples animals as it is too much hassle but she did say she would do it for us. Monday morning 7:30. But she also suggested that we could simply lock our female away so that she can brood in peace. Said we would think about it and perhaps I might come back on Friday when their farm shop is open for the sale of organic chicken & turkey products. Good to know as we have never found a suitable organic poultry supplier.

Then off to nearby Stetten for the dog walk but thought I would drive past the large production facilities of the company "Sauter" who manufacture front linkages and PTOs for John Deere, New Holland, Claas & Deutz Fahr, for sale worldwide. Again some Blipers will know I have mentioned them several times but not got a Blip as there was never a tractor to be seen. Today I found a garage door open, no doubt due to the wonderful weather. Took the chance and went in and asked the young mechanic if I could take a photo, quickly trying to explain my motives. He was incredibly friendly and put up with my blurted, hurried attempts to show Blips from myself, TBay, CTJ, JohnDeere and all the other Tractor Tuesday types. It seemed to convince him and I was very grateful that he allowed me to take the photo, particularly in this day and age when all sorts of weird people with even weirder motives are about. And even more thankful that he took the time as it was lunchtime! So I took the very non specific (no trade secrets photo) and showed it to him for approval. However for all the chatting I didn't ask him exactly what was going on in this "small section". Sauter build the units from raw materials and as far as I know they are crated up and shipped to the local dealers who then fit them on the tractors. I suspect in this room, they fit the units simply for local customers. Judging by the number plates on the two outer machines, they are having the units retro fitted and the middle one has not yet been registered. Have to see if, like many small and medium sized companies, they have an annual "Open Day".

Just a note on such companies. You will see the link to their website is in English - almost all companies here and I suspect in most of non-UK , European countries, they do make the effort. How many UK companies have French, Dutch, German .... versions? Sauters English version is good but I often think I ought to help them just to make them a touch better. One sees things in the wording which are perhaps "correct" and in most cases will be understood by the readers as they know roughly what is meant, but the words are not quite right in the context or perhaps in everyday use. On a rainy day I ought to work on their website and send Sauter some suggestions, as a thank you for the photo. But I still think praise is due to them for the great effort.

Then dog walk along and in the woods above Stetten and home to rescue the washing hanging out to dry before the thunderstorms came. Also let the horses on a new field for a few hours. Full of daisies which are called "Little Goose Flowers" here. See Extra Photo. I could really do with loads of dandelions (Lions-Teeth) as I want to make a lemonade with them but have no idea where to find any. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.