Walking with Flowers

By SusannaHelen

Not a leaning tower...

It was me doing the leaning, out of my bedroom window at the conference centre I've been staying at since Monday, to snap the bell-tower that has been my companion for the last few days. Oddly, although I noticed the tower I didn't spot the bell until this morning. It didn't ring during my stay - I think I would have jumped out of my skin if it had! But it does underline the bell theme that is around for me at the moment.

Here are John Donne's famous words on the subject:

No man is an Iland, intire of it selfe; every man is a peece of the Continent, a part of the maine; if a Clod bee washed away by the Sea, Europe is the lesse, as well as if a Promontorie were, as well as if a Mannor of thy friends or of thine owne were; any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.