With flaming locks of auburn hair

We went out with LooseCanon's camera club friends today, to take photos round the canals of Birmingham. It was a good day out, better than I initially thought when we met up and they were all talking megapixels and club competitions, and I realised I was the only girl and had lowered the average age by a couple of decades! ( ok I exaggerate!)
The parts of the canal system which have been restored/tarted up and gentrified with shops and restaurants round Brindley place are very chic, but as we walked out into the badlands near Winson Green Prison, with their abandoned industrial premises, floating litter and graffitied surroundings, it all looked more, I don't know...authentic somehow. And then there were big surprises like the two beautiful herons we saw, and buddleia bushes taking over derelict waste ground and long disused chimney stacks. It made you realise what a huge part of our industrial history these waterways are.
We all saw this girl walking towards us on the opposite bank, with her red hair flying. I think she wondered why she was being papped.

Extra BT tower and footbridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.