From the Sublime....

... to the ridiculously small. After yesterday's very large bird to Britain's smallest bird today. I had a training session at Longshaw this morning, and decided to call in at an area of coniferous woodland on my way home. I heard and saw my first Willow Warblers of the year, and heard and saw more Chiffchaffs. (see extra). We went to a talk on Firecrests last night, and although I knew it would be virtually impossible to see any locally, I thought it would be within the realms of possibility to see their cousins, the Goldcrest. No problem. There were plenty around. Getting a shot was quite a different matter. They must be one of the hardest to capture! I always think they have little clown faces! 
It's a special bird for me, as it was No. 50 in my bird challenge when I started Blip. - 50 different birds in 50 days.

I'm planning on going to a Blipmeet on Saturday at Yorkshire Sculpture Park. So far there are just 3 of us, but if anyone out there can make it, it would be lovely to see you there. Details are on the Blipmeet thread. YSP is a terrific place, with something for everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.