The Sorcerer

Stow Maries First World War Aerodrome was a bit wet underfoot but bathed in sunshine when I arrived this morning. I met a man in a high vis and told him that I had seen on Twitter that there was a fly-in, admittance charge £16.25. Steep but worth it to me to be able to shoot planes.

This volunteer worker said that no fly-in was planned but that they were expecting a coach load of VIPs. I asked what the business of the VIPs was but he said volunteers are not told. 

I decided to go for a walk at Heybridge instead. I had to pull over on the way out of the aerodrome to let another vehicle pass on the single track and noticed a public footpath. I set off along it and was delighted to discover that it followed the aerodrome perimeter fence. The weather was almost too hot and it was lovely watching and shooting hares, skylarks, linnets and corn buntings. At one point I could see over the River Crouch and as far as the Thames.

I was nearly back to the car when I heard a classic aero engine. This beautifully restored Tiger Moth, The Sorcerer, flew in. The name reminded me of the only birthday party I remember having as a child and one of the few times I went to see a film. Mother marched my friends and me out of the cinema where we were watching Fantasia as she didn't think it was suitable. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.