Homeward Bound

An early start to get the train into Paddington gave me a reminder of the joy of the rush hour commute into London. With not much space I had the opportunity to look around and notice how few men wear ties these days, even those wearing suits. In my time of working in London it would have been very unusual not to wear a tie. Only when I arrived in Aberdeen, and dress down Friday morphed in to dress down every day (though this was never officially ocknowledged) did I stop wearing a tie.

The journey from Paddington to Kings Cross was short even though over crowded. Kings Cross station from the outside is distinctly unimpressive compared to the grandeur of St Pancras next door. Not sure why two separate terminus stations were built so close to each other. Inside Kings Cross (though it looks like it used to be outside) there is this lattice roof.

While I was waiting in the seating area we were sniffed by a police dog and a couple of police with machine guns. A three legged dog sitting close to me took exception to the police dog, though the latter totally ignored whatever it was the three legged dog was saying.

The seats on the train are not super comfortable coonsidering they are to be our home for the seven hours from London to Aberdeen. The wifi charged at GBP 9.95 seems rather extortionate, so I have to refrain and take advantage of free wifi as we stop at stations. Still as far as I know nobody said Richard Branson became a millionaire as a result of his altruistic nature.

The temperature at Aberdeen reminded me of the distance we have travelled, and I see we even have the possibility of snow in the forecast for Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.