jiana

By jiana

Do it yourself

Today, I achieved my task that I have wanted to do it for 3 or 4 years.
This is to change the paper of shouji from old to new one by myself.

Shoji is a sliding paper door.  In Japanese style room, the sliding paper door is very beautiful and the sunlight through "shoji" has an atomosphere of quietness. But, because that so many years have passed since I had pasted papers, the white paper has faded from the sun, to be dirty brown. " Terrible, I should change it ASAP." I have been thinking when I saw it, but I could not.  ...... Why?

1. The shop sells paper for sliding-screens is few.
2. I have no time to paste paper to the frame. Before pasting, I should take off old paper from the frame and cut new one precisely. It is a troublesome work for me.
3. I can not do such a kind of work precisely, so I am afraid
    that even if I dared to do it, the shoji woule be worse.

As a result, I made up my mind and buy new paper at Do It Yourself shop.  But as I expected, after cutting the paper, I found that I cut the wrong length. .......well, no problem, I still have enough paper.  I wasted much amount paper but managed to complete the work as photo shown above.

So tired but a little satisfied.  It is a good day, although I could not eat delicious Unaju.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.