stujphoto

By stujphoto

Edinburgh Botanical Gardens

I met up with my friend, Eric and John today and we decided to visit the Botanics as the weather looked uncertain. It proved to be a profitable experience as it allowed me to get thoroughly accustomed to my new bridge camera as there was no shortage of flowers to photograph. The Magnolia trees were looking rather splendid as were the Rhododendrons.
In the glasshouses apart from the frustration of dealing with misting on the lens and letting the camera adjust to the various hot house climates, there were plenty of opportunities to use the macro facilities of the camera. and the 600mm lens allowed one to get close to blooms that would normal have been difficult to frame. There were also a couple of developments in the gardens that I had not formally seen - the new Education Centre and the Queen Mother's Memorial Garden. Though there we're no flowers in the latter we were entranced by the little shell interior decorated gazebo. There is a charming stained glass window which I suspect many people may miss as it is quite high up and I have included this as my extra today. I had a wealth of flower shots to choose from for Flower Friday and unfortunately the one I have chosen I am unable to identify but I just love the curled-in ends of the petals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.