Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Rhythm Kings

I was driving down an alley in Bellingham this morning when I saw this trailer. I stopped the car, opened the window and took a photo with my iPhone. Then I noticed a man getting out of his car next to where I'd stopped. He came over to chat and I explained why I was taking the photo.

It was his trailer, and he'd bought it a long time ago from one of the members of the band, who had built it. I wasn't surprised when he told me that it hadn't moved in the last five years. I asked if the band still played together. He laughed and said "They're probably all dead by now".

When I decided to blip this I Googled Rythm Kings Bonner Ferry. I found obituaries for two of the members.

Peter Reiber, the leader of the band, died on November 23, 2012. His age wasn't given, but he played until he was almost 80 years old. If you read his obituary I think you'll agree that he was probably the builder of the trailer.

The other band member, Kenneth Gustafson, died on January 4, 2015 at the age of 91.

If I can find the owner again, I'll tell him what I discovered.

Corrected link for Kenneth Gustafson on April 23rd, 2016. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.