One too many mornings

By stevieholmes

Falling on a bruise

I did this un-elegantly getting out of the swimming pool yesterday, and every time I look at it I get this Carter USM song in my head:

You win some and you lose some
and I've lost the will to lose
with my part-time job
and my faith in God
fallling on a bruise

And this no star bed and breakfast
and insolvency abuse
make me feel like throwing myself
off the kitchen shelf
falling on a brulse

And all of my unworldly goods,
the bailiffs took them too
for all the ducked bills and silly sods
from Brian Mills' catalogue
something borrowed, bartered and blew

You win some and you lose some
and you save nothing for a rainy day
you need your nutrasweet daddy
some peppermint paddy
or just a hackneyed old cabbie
who can drive you and your babby away

Two fives or a ten
could get me back to you
and stop me
falling for a bruise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.