Bad Karma

A thoroughly crap day, even the weather sucked! 

I woke up feeling positive, but by then end of the day it was long gone. Little Ro came home at lunchtime and was unhappy with the lack of food/drink/things she needed from the shops. My mum said she would go later.

And just to round off nicely the first week back after the holidays I was attacked by a parent in my classroom doorway at the end of the day. In front of three children who were still waiting to be collected.....The woman was extremely rude, and although I argued back, I was utterly seething after school. I am so sick of parents being in charge. If they know best how to educate their children, what the hell am I here for? Rationally I know that is a storm in a teacup, and the higher-ups are very supportive. But it's the principal. I'm thinking of making a formal complaint. The NHS have posters everywhere reminding us that they are not there to be abused, yet teachers are continually ambushed, harassed, verbally attacked in front of children and other parents, and it's highly embarrassing. And I REFUSE to put up with it any longer. I consider myself one of the lucky ones, in that I can count on one hand the number of times that has happened to me over the last nine years. But that's not the point. There needs to be more respect. I am not just a teacher, I am a person. And I try to conduct myself as an adult. I would not dream of complaining loudly about anything, unless it is inside the four walls of my home. It's a shame others do not. And I will not tolerate that kind of behaviour from anybody in my place of work or otherwise. 

It upset me quite a lot, I felt close to tears way into the evening! It's silly really, but it's a typical thing that it's Friday, and I can't sort anything until Monday. To top it off, I was supposed to be going out tonight- Guy-friend's postponed Dj gig. I saw on Facebook that it was on, and just messaged him to check. And he replied he was, but "the weather is so hideous if I were you I'd stay put, there'll be other times". What a jerk! I went out and did my own thing anyways. I had planned just to stop in at the pub on my way back, but after giving it some thought (over a way-overpriced dinner at Whole Foods!) I decided I have more respect for myself than to go. If that wasn't a brush off I don't know what is. 

I repeat- What. A. Jerk. I do wonder what I ever saw in him. I'm sure all you Blipper's saw where it was going though ;-)

I took a nice train home, to find nobody there. Dad was out, but Mum had to take Little Ro back to A and E as she couldn't pee. So Little B was at Shelle's. She sent me a pic and I went over to pick him up. We chatted for a bit in the cosiness of her newly-plastered living room ;-) And then I took my tired little puppy boy home. He is happiest at home.

M and D came back, and then Little B got into his dog-bed next to mine, and we fell asleep. And then I woke up just before 11am the morning-oops! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.