Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

Malteasers - Pea Pastizzi

One of the things I've been meaning to do since quitting my job is to start writing blogs again, focusing on food. One of the topic ideas was to try and recreate some of my fave food discovered whilst travelling.

So, today I thought I'd give pastizzi a crack. Pastizzi are a popular street food sold in Malta (in pastizzerias), a filo-type pastry full of either ricotta or mushy peas and sold for about 70 euro cents. Absolutely fell in love with them in Malta!

I found a quick recipe for them, and made both the curried pea and ricotta pastizzi: http://www.grouprecipes.com/66193/maltese-cheese-cakes-pastizzi.html.

I think I put too much filling in most of my pastizzi as the majority of them split open while baking. But they still tasted great, full of great memories of a lovely trip in Malta over New Years 2012.

The pic above is at pre-baking stage. I love how green the pea mixture is. For a delicious pic of the finished product, just google images of pastizzi!

With the baking done and my belly full, now I just need to write the blog!

(I also read on Wikipedia today that there is a pastizzeria open in Scotland! Apparently it's called Mama Malta Pastizzeria, in Cruden Bay. Anyone know if it's still around?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.