Survived

I've been a bit unwell for a couple of weeks - really tired and my chest has been playing up resulting in a lot of coughing and phlegmy nastiness.  I really debated whether to do the Great Edinburgh Run (a 10 miler) today or not.  It isn't the flattest of courses, as you might imagine.

In the end I decided to go for it.  Sometimes exactly what I need is a run to clear the airways and get me back on track, and I think I would have felt better trying and bailing if I didn't feel fit than not trying at all.

It took a couple of miles at the start to clear my lungs out, the I was OK for a while, but on a big uphill around mile 8 I just ran out of steam and had to stop and walk for a bit.  That is the first time I've had to do that on an organised run, so it's a bit depressing.

Usually when I do a run like this I set myself a target, and my three targets (descending order of priority) were:

1) Finish
2) Run the whole way
3) A time of under 1:40 

I was really hoping for a time closer to 1:32 a few weeks back but I knew that wasn't looking good this morning.

I achieved 2 out of 3.  I finished, in an official time of 1:39:46 (14 seconds to spare!).  So I'm calling that more positives than negatives.  Plus it leaves me with the opportunity to come back next year and do better.  

I am very, very tired now, so tonight will be an early night I think!

P.S. My run on Strava.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.