EmmaDavies

By EmmaDaviesPhoto

Start of the season

This corner is where I start my favourite days at work. I'm Claire's photographer, and if her parrot tulips have opened up overnight, then I'll be there to catch them, even on a Sunday morning. It's on days like this that it *really* doesn't feel like work.

Claire is a cut flower farmer in my village, and she is part of a successful (and growing) movement to bring commercially viable British grown cut flowers to the homes of everyone in the country.

(Do you want to buy locally grown flowers? Find a local grower here: http://www.flowersfromthefarm.co.uk.)

Anyway - back to my photo. The start of the season always seems soooo slowwww. You think Spring has come in March, but nothing happens. And then Bam! April arrives and the tulips go mad, the anemones can't be stopped and the ranunculus are promising plenty. Before you know it the field is full to bursting and Claire is praying for frost in October so she can stop picking dahlias.

I'll be posting plenty from this field because that's where I spend a lot of time. Unfollow me now if flowers aren't your thing ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.