Get a grip!

I am not of of life's DIY junkies; I'm far more of a "don't do" person or a "pay someone else to do it" kinda guy. I have been known to crack a bottle of fizz to celebrate changing a light-bulb. Imagine my pleasure then at completing a DIY project! I've been fixing furniture today but I wasn't able to do everything I'd planned as I couldn't find my saw. I did repair a chest-of-drawers and also clear some of the builder's rubbish from the garden and clean the kitchen windows and throw away a pile of stuff which had been mounting up on the shelves behind the kitchen table so not a bad day for practical work. I've also done some online stuff with a colleague for a piece of work which might start tomorrow - note how definite this deadline is; shifting deadlines are the bane of my life just now.

Not being a DIY bloke doesn't mean that I'm not good with my hands, you already know that I can cook and decorate cakes and stuff, and I have the kit. Again I'm on less secure ground if asked the names of the bits and bobs. Throw me a fine-meshed conical strainer and I'll tell you that it's a chinoise but stuff like the bad boy in this blip will only ever have a made-up name. I'm sure that it's probably a "bull-nosed pistol-gripped clamp" but in my head it'll only ever be the "orange gripper thing".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.