A Day in the Bay with Ray...OR...

A Turtle With a 'Tude.

I don't think I got my kayak out once last summer, and I don't know why.

So, I decided to rectify that early this Spring. With the temperature in the mid-70's, with no wind...it was a great afternoon to venture out.

I saw a half-dozen turtles, but as soon as they see you, they are diving in. Not this guy. He let me get to within 10 feet, and let me take quite a few pictures (maybe 25).

I went out in search of swans,
finding them would have been swell.
But, instead I had to settle,
for this animal in a shell.

Ray (my kayak...short for Col-o-RAY-do) and I had a nice paddle, probably about 90 minutes worth. It was also nice to see people getting their boats out, putting their docks in, and sitting outside in the Michigan sunshine.

One more:
It was nice of the turtle to pose,
so I could work my aperture.
Do you think he might be upset...
if I'd suggested a pedicure?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.