Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Pelican at St. Augustine

I left the band of blippers this morning and drove two hours to St. Augustine, Florida to see the rookery at the Alligator Farm.  The doors opened at 9 AM and I stayed about three hours. I then went for lunch at St. Augustine Beach and then walked out on the pier where I found some beautiful pelicans. They were quite tame and would let people get within several feet.  

I took over 500 photos at the Alligator Farm and at the beach and quickly picked a couple of my favorites for the day including this close shot of one of the pelicans.  Please see today's extras for a couple of close runner-ups...  Note that I would have blipped the Roseate Spoonbill but Osuzanna already blipped a beautiful shot of a different nest today.


A very special thank you to BikerBear, Sefferdog, and Gaia's Child for all of the pre-planning for this weekends festivities.  I had a fantastic time and cannot wait to do this again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.