Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Hidden

For me one of those elusive birds that I never seem to come across; I don't remember seeing one since I was a kid. So it was a treat to come across a pair of Bullfinch in Spring Wood today, along with my first Blackcap of the year. In the undergrowth an Alder Fly was feeding (extras).

On the Dam, the cob swan didn't want me to get too close to the edge, even though the nest was way over the other side of the water. The Little Grebe was still there and I managed a closer, brighter shot than last time (extras), the sun also brought out the purplish tinge of a Tufted Duck (extras).

Butterflies were active too, and I saw my first Small White of the year in Tong Park, along with plenty of Small Tortoiseshell and Peacock. Still no Speckled Wood though.

Not bad for a lunchtime walk.

Butterfly Journal 2016

4. 19/04/16 Small White. Tong Park, Baildon. (VC64)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.