Sun-bathing?

When I went to check on my grebe's nest at Trentham Gardens, this male swan was preening at the edge of the weir. I think he's the mate of the swan sitting on the nest not far away. I got a great shot of her at the end of March when she stood up long enough for me to see the eggs she was sitting on.

The extra shots include a jackdaw gathering nest material. 

The other shot is a bit unusual for me, as it's more architectural, rather than landscape or nature. I'd been meaning to visit this places for ages, having lived not far away for most of my life. It's been nearly 20 years since I last visited! To any other Stoke-on-Trent native it would be easy to recognise it.

My grandad worked here before it became a working museum - it's Gladstone Pottery Museum. This photo shows how the pottery ware would have been stacked, in saggars, inside the bottle ovens, to be fired. My grandad packed the pottery into barrels of straw when it was ready to be sold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.