horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Tale of Awesome Power

There was quite a lot of activity crammed into the first 15 minutes of venturing forth from the front door.

A couple of hundred yards into the sunlight and I was witness to a road incident. A set of traffic lights, turning green just before I slotted in behind a white Corsa, which was behind a black cab, which in turn stopped to let a minibus coming the other way turn right in front of him. White Corsa driver clearly wasn't paying attention however, and had floored it, only to find the back end of the taxi in his way.

Both pulled off to the side, and given I had the camera rolling on the bike it only seemed right to offer my email details, just in case.

So effectively restarting the commute, around a mile later I'm pulling away from a junction, two pedal strokes, and.... Well it felt like my foot had slipped from the pedal, but what had actually happened was the crank itself shearing off. So it's just as well I could freewheel downhill most of the way back, to swap over to the 'fast' cross bike, which fortuitously I had serviced at the weekend.

Still, it was a nice day, I was only 15 minutes late into work, and coming home the traffic was astonishingly heavy, and I got to ride past it all. Joyous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.