Those Incredibly Long Toe Pins

I got the pins removed about 2 weeks ago.
 Mostly painless. 
Yet, you know, there’s gotta be a reluctant one. 
Law of averages, right? 


One of the yellow pins.. 
Required a few twists.
A couple of yanks.
Before he’d succumb.
Yep, that one hurt.


Afterwards, I was riding high.
Until, the next day,
I noticed my third toe turning toward my second toe.
That wouldn’t be so bad,
Except my second toe now lifts above the others.
A “flail” toe.


The Doc,
Wrapped yards of gauze around Flail Toe,
Anchoring it all around the middle of my foot,
Then pulling it tight to keep 2nd toe down.


Yikes.
I dragged my swollen, painful foot around for a week.
Enough. Back to the Doc.
Now an over-the-counter elastic gizmo is doing the job.


Complications from a complicated surgery.

Much worse things could happen to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.