Small Coppers- Wild Wednesday3

Popped down the track mid morning and came across these two butterflies. They were frantically chasing each other and so I assumed they must be a male and a female. On doing a bit of research online I can't see any obvious difference between the sexes. What I did find out was that the males are very aggressive and will chase any competition away whilst waiting for a potential mate. More info here on the Butterfly Conservation site.

I also spotted the ducklings with their very attentive parents. They were amongst the reeds on the pond, hopefully be safer there than on the main reservoir. I've made an album for this years ducklings on Flickr if you fancy a look.

No more action from the Great Tits, so assume the nest is complete and so it's a waiting game for the next two weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.