Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Hungry!

Probably my worst blip ever, but it's just for the record and I have excuses!

1.    You shouldn't disturb nesting birds.
2.    It was taken through dirty glass.
3.    I couldn't actually see the LCD, let alone the view-finder.
4.    I was holding the camera up, guessing where the nest would be.

When The Man went into the greenhouse recently to prepare it for growing tomato plants he inadvertently revealed a robin's nest with two eggs in it. How did he know it was a robin's nest, I asked "Because it had robin's eggs in it!" he replied.

The nest is so well tucked away in what is probably Mum's old cat litter tray behind boxes stored in the greenhouse over the winter. The only way we can see it is looking in through the roof by balancing on a couple of bricks.

The parent birds are around the garden quite a lot now looking for food and are getting used to us working outdoors and leaving food for them. I hope I'll get shots of the young when they fledge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.