No, not George!

I had heard that Leith library was to have people dressed up in 1930's garb to help celebrate its 80th birthday. The new Town Hall and Library was built to fulfil a promise by the City Council when Leith was amalgamated into the capital, opening its doors on July 20, 1932.

I thought this would make a good blipping opportunity, so I had a lovely lunchtime walk to check it out. However, when I got there not much was going on, so I walked back to work detouring via Bonnington Cemetary, where I blipped this memorial to M.P. Galloway (no, not George), Shipowner of Leith.

As an aside, a thing I noticed was that there are quite a lot of knocked owner gravestones, which I thought was a real shame. Why do people do it??

Nearly the weekend and we are promised some nice weather, enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.