Blair Atholl to the middle of nowhere

I got the train to Blair Atholl and started my walk at 9am. My plan was to do these three walks:

Blair Atholl to Bynack Lodge (27km)
http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/perthshire/blair-atholl-bynack.shtml

Bynack Lodge to Glen Feshie (21km)
http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/cairngorms/bynack-glen-feshie.shtml

Glen Feshie to Kingussie (23.5km)
http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/cairngorms/feshie-kingussie.shtml

For some reason, I decided that I should try and do the walk in two days instead of three. So I sped away along Glen Tilt to walk as far as possible. The walk was incredibly scenic - beautiful views of snow-covered hills and birds chirping everywhere. I made it to Bynack Lodge by 3.30pm with little issues - either roads or good paths the whole way. 

I then decided to keep going, attempting to see how far I could manage. I even contemplated just walking the whole next step, keeping going in the dark until I reached my destination....

The first 1km consisted of three river crossings - two which just needed some tactical stone stepping, and the last which needed a proper wade. I was very thankful for the low water conditions - the rivers are impassable in spate. The next 5km was on a landrover track and was easy going. However, things then got much more difficult. The track turned into an incredibly boggy path. This, added with incredibly strong winds and hail showers, made walking horrible. I soon gave up on my plans to walk the whole way to Glen Feshie by the end of the day. I instead focused all my effort on getting to a location on the map which looked like a good camping spot - by a waterfall in a steep ravine. Ideal for the wind! Between 6pm and 8pm, I walked through bog and hail, waiting for the forecast sun to (hopefully) come out. And it did!! I had a little happiness cry (I was very tired by that point) and finally made it to the waterfall (which was an AMAZING camping location - see next blip!). 

Then the tent was pitched and I was in my sleeping bag by 8.30pm, and asleep an hour later! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.