View From the Bridge

This afternoon I went to the Waimakariri River near the Gorge bridge, hoping to find interesting insects. I couldn’t find any. Now and then I looked up at the bridge high above me and suddenly realised that the traffic was slow. I used to love walking out on the bridge, but after it was repaired a few years ago the speed limit was raised to 100kph. The first time I found myself out on the narrow deck with a huge truck and trailer unit bearing down on me and passing within a metre of where I stood I decided not to go there again. Now, however, 30kph signs have been erected and I was able walk across in safety. What a thrill it was for me.

The shot was taken from the same place as my first blip seven years ago. Then the river was in flood and it was earlier in the day. Today there was a haze that softened the distant banks. I was interested to see how some of the trees have grown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.