Larix the Larch?

This afternoon, as a reward for our volunteering, the woodland management group were treated to a private tour of Bedgebury Pinetum followed by a BBQ. Unfortunately I missed most of the talk because I was too busy taking photos and each time I caught up with the group they were ready to move on again.  I did however learn about deciduous conifers which I never knew existed.  Apparently in the autumn, having deciduous conifers amongst the normal evergreen ones, makes for an absolutely stunning display.  However in April it just looks dead.  This maybe  Larix the Larch or Taxodium the Swamp Cypress but as I said I missed most of the talk . 
The extra is the group learning how to recognise a Douglas fir cone by the tails of the mice trapped in the cone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.