Fried Eggs

Driving through town, I'd seen them blooming and knew, it was time. I drove to Mother Comfort's house and wandered to the side yard to stand in front of them and think...and remember. Every year, in July, she would say, "you kids have to go look, the Fried Egg flowers are blooming."
When you Google "Fried Egg Flowers", you get a huge variety of photos that fall under the heading of "Fried Egg Flowers", and some of them are even like these. You will find them in yarn, actual eggs, and a variety of other types of flowers that are white with yellow centers.

Several years ago, I noticed photocopies of them on her piano. She had laid them out in various patterns with the buds, and copied them. She explained to me that this is how you begin to choose your design for china painting. First you lay them out and decide what pattern you want, then you trace them, then water color them...

Hmmmm, I had never done water color that turned into anything, so I talked her into showing me. My first attempt at making water color look like anything was one of these flowers. It turned out quite nice and, in the process, she taught me some principles of water color that I began to use while painting little pictures to my nieces and nephews. First, a card that depicted my niece on skis. I was so excited to learn that I could control the colors and share something that made myself and others smile!

Forever, when I see these flowers, I will remember the door they opened for me, and how much she loved them.

Mother Comfort, thank you again for all you gave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.