Tablescape

Dear Diary,

This is the best I can do this morning.  Things went downhill yesterday afternoon and I had to go to urgent care at our local hospital.  Seems I have developed a secondary infection in the poison ivy rash.  Now I am on a 10 day cycle of steroids and antibiotics!  I took my first antibiotic last night and with the new antibiotic suave it looks a tiny bit better this morning.  Well, at least it doesn't look worse and that is a step in the right direction.

What to post?  I looked towards my tablescape if wandering the landscape isn't possible right now.  For the summer months I use chickens from my vintage collection of the perky birds.  I've always wanted to have chickens here but traveling as I do it isn't feasible so these will have to do.  I can get fresh eggs from neighbors who stay at home a bit more than I do.

I have wonderful memories of collecting eggs when I was little and trying to outsmart the wily rooster.  I also remember my cousins and me letting the chickens out so we could round them up for the 10 cents a head my father would pay us.    An hour later the cry,  "The chickens are out!" would be raised and off we would go again.  Later, I asked my dad if he knew what we were up to and he said, "Of course.  It was a good way to keep you occupied."  That memory always makes me chuckle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.