Silver Charm on the Queen's 90th birthday

Our queen has turned ninety this week,
Which means she is almost antique.
She is also the queen
Whose reign has now been
Quite the longest – which makes her unique.

© Celia Warren 2016

Here is another in my occasional series of silver charms. I remember being told that this was the queen riding Winston. Being born in the year of her Coronation, I received a lot of charms that related to the new Queen Elizabeth II - including one of the coronation coach and one of Westminster Abbey. Here she is riding side-saddle, in uniform, taking the salute at the annual trooping of the colour.

The longer I live, the more my respect for Queen Elizabeth grows. And as any remaining respect for politicians dwindles, the more I appreciate our having a figurehead who is dedicated and apolitical. I also enjoyed watching her and Prince Philip as they made their royal walk-and-ride-about Windsor while I did the ironing.

Oh, and I won a bet with myself: the queen wore yellow - carried off with her own 90th birthday silver charm! See what I did there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.