From Cymbeline

By Cymbeline

My Barry Morris moment

With piles and piles of debris ready to burn off in the backyard, Ian who is helping me with this advised that I couldn't just put a match to it, but had to ring someone to let them know first.  Under the understanding, due to our block size that I didn't need anyone's approval, I confidently rang the council only to be told that not only did I have to ring someone, I had to fill out a form and then have someone come from the council to inspect before I burnt off.  

And not only that, but the approval, if I got it, would only last one month.  And soon, they would not approve the burning of bark and leaves or anything green as it would create too much smoke.  

There was plenty of smoke coming out my ears at this point as I asked him what he thought I might do with all the leaves and bark that fall constantly from the sky into my backyard to which he replied - the green bin.  

Well, let's hope this bloody bin is the size of a bus.

For the first time ever, I knew just how Barry felt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.