The crest of a wave

I came across these two little books recently. They had belonged to my father-in-law who was very involved in the Boy Scout movement. Normous was a Boy Scout too as was son J. A brilliant organisation for boys.
The little song book was printed in 1949 and contains old English folk songs, negro spitituals and very many songs familiar from my childhood.
Our local paper today ran an account of a nearby Scout troop that put on a Gang Show to raise money for the repair of their hut. I remember going to local Gang Shows long ago, they were rousing performances. With all these reminiscences, the song that has been on my mind all day is "We're riding along on the crest of a wave". Son J, when small, called it the Christopher Wave song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.