Laxey Wheel

Hi, Physivic reporting again. I've had a very adventurous day! We upset the coach driver again by refusing to go on his trip.  Instead we walked to the other end of Douglas bay to catch the electric train to Laxey. You couldn't go further today as one broke down yesterday further on,  we didn't really need to go further.  We jumped off the electric train and straight on to the mountain train to go up Snaefell. Apparently one of those ran away recently and crashed! Despite the forecast the weather was hot and sunny again.  We got to the top station and walked to the summit.  I sat on the trig point to see the view of the whole island but nearly got blown off by the wind.  We could even see across to Ireland.

Back down the mountain on the train, then a walk to the Laxey wheel. We climbed to the top of the wheel, including limbo dancing on the spiral stair under a beam, which was interesting when we met someone coming the other way! Then we did the miner's trail, where I did some nature walks, saw a bear sized waterfall and did a bit of bear caving. I did have a fright when I fell off a tree stump down a steep bank but Huddsbird rescued me. We then went down the mine. J and H had to wear hard hats but the man said he'd lost the bear sized one in the river this morning but I would be ok to go in if I was careful not to bang my head.

After the wheel J and H stopped for lunch and then took me for another swift half. The kind barman let me have a picture by the beer pumps on his special bar that looked like a tram carriage. We then walked down to the beach, which was another lovely bay, before climbing the hill to introduce me to geocaching. I crawled into the hole to find my first cache, it was just bear sized.

Back to the hotel by bus. We have certainly made the most of the three days. Unfortunately we have to leave very early tomorrow for another long journey.

Pictures of my day are in the extras.

After dinner we joined in the entertainment. We had Manx pipers followed by a singer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.