Better Out Than In

Lurking behind a tree on the edge of a lake in Crystal River, camera trained on this Yellow-crowned Night Heron fishing, I wasn't expecting this. No not a bad meal; in fact having examined the contents on a larger screen...sorry folks... I could clearly see he had been foraging for crabs and crayfish and was ejecting the poisonous and indigestible bits. Not the prettiest shot but interesting to see - I thought :)

I'm not too keen on going alone round lakes with signs everywhere to watch out for gators as I do tend to get caught up on the moment totally forgetting everything around me for while but believe me, looking into the water which was crawling with gators I was ultra cautious and quiet glad to step back from the edge after this. This time last year I am sure I saw this same little chap here at the Crystal River Archeological site too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.