Poetography

By Similarinterest

Poetry Slam!

This is Bethan performing her poem 'You can't like grime' at today's poetry slam. I performed also, and I never do that, so I'm glad I got involved, made me realise I'd do anything to please Batman, so she'll be pleased to know that. She's so cute, I hope this portrays how much everyone was concentrating on my girl, she's magic when she reads her poetry. - Robin

~

You Cant Like Grime:

You cant like grime,
chubby little white girl.
Your clothes aren't seven sizes too big
and your skin isn't black.
You have no sense of rhythm
when you bump and grind everyone gets embarrassed.

But what gives you the right to like grime?
Your skin isn't dirty
just because it's darker than mine.
You front like a 'bad man'
or a 'waste man'.
But you sit at home all day bashing you xbox
cranking up your kill streak on Call of Duty Black Ops.
But everyone knows the only game you're popular enough to play is first person shooter.

It's true that the closest I've been to the ghetto is the hood on my JLS sweater.
But that doesnt make me deaf.
You tell me to stop fronting like I'm black
but the grime is hidden under my skin.
Kiss your teeth at me loudly
flashing your gold grated grin.

But I don't really care what you think.
I'm more than comfortable in my own skin.
I'm not going to stop listening to the music I like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.